Will our next iPods be flash memory? According to a piece from the AppleInsider we may be close. Nothing has been confirmed but maybe the next generation iPod will have NAND flash memory instead of the HDD(Hard Disk Drive) beginning late 2007. Right now the iPod uses a 1.8-inch hard drive and giving the fact that it’s has the capacity to have 80gigs is pretty amazing. But imagine having a lighter ipod(which weights what, 1pound or so) and the battery life longer what be a big plus.

From what I have read right now the largest in flash memory is 32GB (if I’m wrong please correct me) and the price tag would be higher for the iPod. This is what operates the Nano which has worked out well because using flash memory, the chance of audio skipping is far less this works out well for people who exercise.

Of course if they move the iPod to flash the price is going up so be prepared for that and by it only will be available up to 32GB so I will not be getting one soon. This is the reason why I held on to my mini iPod instead of going out and buying an earlier Nano because it only went up to 4GB and my mini iPod has a hard drive of 6GB (the Nano iPod now has a 8GB). I’m learning to appreciate what I have and to be patient when the “next big” gadget comes along.